McLain Ward winner of the Van Lanschot Kempen Prize

NB CHIO376 First Lady Ward Mc Lain USA CSIO5 LLN N07 2306
Picture: Nils Boeser

The Americans are on a roll this Friday at CHIO Rotterdam! After a win for Ella Duffy in the Breeland Prize and two Americans on the podium in the DHL Prize, McLain Ward was victorious in the Van Lanschot Kempen Prize.

With First Lady, the American set a winning time of 63.63 seconds in this 1.50m jumping competition against the clock. Surely a great boost for the American morale as they prepare to participate in the Longines League of Nations later this afternoon. Ward will be the fourth rider for Team USA with Callas.

Sweden’s Peder Fredricson and SV Vroom de la Pomme Z took second place in the Van Lanschot Kempen Prize. Fredricson, the winner of the Grand Prix of Rotterdam in 2017, did come very close to Ward’s time with 63.99 seconds but just fell short for the top tier of the podium. Dutch rider Pim Mulder achieved another fine result with Dunaghmore: the combination repeated yesterday’s third place in the Dura Vermeer Prize, today with a time of 64.66 seconds.

  • Share this article